History of Audi > About Audi > FAW-Volkswagen Audi>Vorsprung durch Technik

  • enter_audi_banner.jpg
enter_audi_banner.jpg

As a leading brand in domestic luxury car market, FAW-Volkswagen Audi has a brilliant history. Adoption of the four-ring logo by Audi in 1932 was the starting point of the long legendary road of brand gene inheritance. Audi, now a synonym for elegance, luxury, and leading technologies, has traditional automotive and engine manufacturing processes dating from the nineteenth century. For nearly a century, the constantly evolving Audi brand has created numerous legends, and some of its inventions have become absolute classic models in the history of automotive industry.

Predecessor of Audi



Audi is one of the oldest car manufacturers across Germany. In 1932, Audi began to use the four-ring logo, a symbol of an automotive union formed by merger of Audi, DKW, Horch, and Wanderer. For long, Audi has been recognized as one of the most successful automotive brands around the world due to it technical strengths, quality standards, innovation capabilities, and classic models. Now let’s explore into the legendary history of Audi and learn more about this famous company.

  • Horch.jpg
    Horch

    By the end of the nineteenth century several companies in Germany were already building cars. Among them was August Horch & Cie., established on 1899 in Cologne. August Horch was one of the pioneer figures of automotive engineering. Before setting up business on his own, he worked for Carl Benz in Mannheim for three years as Head of Automobile Production. In 1904 August Horch moved his business to the town of Zwickau and transformed it into a share-issuing company. Following differences between the Executive and Supervisory Boards, August Horch left his company in 1909.

  • Audi.jpg
    Audi

    After parting company from Horch Motorwagenwerke AG, August Horch established a new company in 1909, again with the declared aim of building automobiles. Since Horch was unable to make further use of his own name as an automobile brand, he resorted to the device of translating his own name into Latin: “Horch“ (“Listen!“ in German) became “Audi”. This was the starting point for the Audi factory in Zwickau.



August Horch delivered the first car to bear the new Audi brand name in May 1910. The new model gained immediate respect by scoring an unrivalled series of successes in the International Austrian Alpine Rally, at that time the toughest long-distance competition of its kind. Audi won this event in three successive years: 1912, 1913 and 1914. After the First World War the Zwickau-based company attracted attention in 1921 by being the first German car manufacturer to adopt left-hand drive and opt for a central, floor-mounted gear lever. This gave the driver better control over the car in traffic, so that all other German automobile manufacturers followed suit in subsequent years.

The first Audi with a six-cylinder engine was introduced in 1923. It was equipped with an oil filter and air cleaner, not a widespread device at that time. An air cleaner did not become a standard feature until some years later. The Audi six-cylinder model was also among the first cars in Germany to have hydraulic brakes at all four wheels; the design was developed in-house at the Audi development department in Zwickau. In 1927, Chief Designer Heinrich Schuh introduced Audi’s first eight-cylinder car, the “Imperator”: an imposing vehicle, but one that reached the market too late, since sales of large luxury cars were falling. The company found itself in financial difficulties and was purchased in 1928 by Jörgen Skafte Rasmussen, the owner of the DKW business enterprise.

Wanderer

In 1885, the two mechanics Johann Baptist Winklhofer and Richard Adolf Jaenicke opened a repair business for bicycles in Chemnitz. Shortly afterwards they began to make bicycles of their own, since demand at that time was very high. These were sold under the brand name Wanderer, and in 1896 the company itself began to trade as Wanderer Fahrradwerke AG. Wanderer built its first motorcycle in 1902. The idea of branching out into motor car production was finally put into practice in 1913. A small two-seater that people nicknamed "Puppchen" (loosely translated as “Baby Doll”) heralded in Wanderer's tradition of motor car production that was to last several decades.



DKW



Established originally in 1902 as Rasmussen & Ernst in Chemnitz, the company moved to Zschopau, in Germany’s Erzgebirge mountains, in 1907. It first manufactured and sold waste steam oil traps and other components for steam raising plant, and later added centrifuges of all kinds and painting equipment to its product range. It also supplied car parts such as mudwings and vehicle lighting. The company's founder Jörgen Skafte Rasmussen began to experiment with a steam-driven motor vehicle in 1916, registering "DKW" as a trademark. By 1919 the company’s name had been changed to Zschopauer Motorenwerke and it was manufacturing small two-stroke engines. The first small DKW motor car appeared on the market in 1928.

  • Auto Union.jpg
    Auto Union

    On 29 June 1932, Audiwerke, Horchwerke and Zschopauer Motorenwerke/DKW merged on the initiative of the State Bank of Saxony to form Auto Union AG. At the same time a purchase and leasing agreement was concluded with the Wanderer company for the acquisition of its automobile department. The new group had its headquarters in Chemnitz. When Auto Union AG was established, it was the second-largest motor vehicle manufacturer in Germany. The four interlocking rings chosen as its emblem symbolised the indissoluble unity of the four member-companies. The brand names Audi, DKW, Horch and Wanderer were retained. Each of the four brands was allocated a specific market segment within the new company: DKW (motorcycles and small cars), Wanderer (medium-size cars), Audi (cars in the upper midsize market segment), Horch (top-class luxury cars).



NSU



The NSU company was founded in 1873 by two mechanics from the Swabian region of Germany in the town of Riedlingen an der Donau. Seven years later it moved to Neckarsulm. In the first 20 years of its existence, it manufactured knitting machines. In 1886 the proprietors of the knitting machine factory opened a department devoted to building bicycles. From then on, two-wheeled road vehicles were to govern the company’s fortunes. Motorcycle production started in 1901, and the company’s first cars appeared five years later. Car production ceased in 1929, however, when the company decided to concentrate fully on its bicycles and motorcycles. It was almost three decades later, in 1958, when car production recommenced in Neckarsulm. On March 10, 1969 Auto Union GmbH, Ingolstadt joined forces with NSU Motorenwerke AG, Neckarsulm. The new company, known as Audi NSU Auto Union AG, was established retrospectively from January 1 onwards and had its head offices in Neckarsulm.

Audi Sport

Audi positions itself as the sportiest supplier in the premium sector, and for this it has the perfect basis: Motorsport. Sportiness, pioneering technology and an evocative design lay the foundations for Audi brand’s success. The genes for this stem from racing. Audi Sport has stood behind the successful motor racing involvement of AUDI AG for 40 years. Nowadays, the Ingolstadt manufacturer markets its most sporty Audi models and accessories under the label Audi Sport. The first motor racing activities of the Audi brand began in the late 1970s under the tagline Audi Motorsport. With its entry into the World Rally Championship in 1980, the brand changed the name of its motorsport department to Audi Sport. Even then, works-run motorsport at Audi was part of the Technical Development (TE) department. This close connection guarantees the technology transfer between motorsport and series production. Traditionally, this is a decisive reason for Audi taking on top-level motorsport.

1906-1926 origins of racing

The motorsport origins of all the companies symbolized by the “Four Rings”, as well as NSU, go back to before the First World War. The one figure who stands out above the rest is August Horch. The engineer and founder of the Horch and Audi companies initially concentrated on long-distance rallies too promote his company. For prospective customers, these grueling events boosted the image of the brand enormously.

Learn more

1932-1939 the age of the silver arrows

Motor racing appealed to the masses between the wars, particularly the wide range of club competitions and top-class events. It was obvious to everyone that sporting success had a major impact on sales. Following the 1932 merger of Saxony's four automotive companies, Audi, DKW, Horch and Wanderer, it was important to promote the new Auto Union name. In this regard, motor racing offered the ideal platform to endorse the message. Ambition allowed no other choice than to compete at the very highest level: Grand Prix racing.

Learn more

1908-1968 NSU in racing

NSU was already making a name for itself in motorsport in the early twentieth century. By 1967, the brand had scored notable race victories at motorcycle and automobile races.

Learn more



1929-1964 DKW in racing

DKW, founded by Jörgen Skafte Rasmussen in Zschopau, contested races successfully with two-stroke motorcycles from 1921. Victory in the ADAC Reich long-distance run in October 1921 was the start of a magnificent series of motorsport successes. DKW touring cars began their motorsport career in 1929 with modest 600cc twin-cylinder engines developing no more than 15 hp.

Learn more

1978-1987 the beginning:quattro

The rebirth of the Audi brand in 1965 and the merger of Auto Union and NSU in 1969 added new significance to the topic of motorsport. Excluding the era prior to the Second World War, including the legendary Grand Prix cars of Auto Union in the 1930s, Audi’s motor racing heritage began with the quattro.

Learn more

1999-today new era

With the entry of Le Mans prototypes in 1999 and into the DTM in 2004, Audi began an exceptionally successful era with the most superior racing cars of their time. The regulations for open sports cars resulted in a technological boom, which also flowed into the brand’s series production. The DTM had evolved from a category for production-based race cars in the 1980s and 1990s to prototypes that only resemble road vehicles in their silhouettes. Pure racing technology combined with first-rate safety has guaranteed top-class touring car sport ever since. Moreover, in 2009, Audi entered a whole new domain with customer racing.

Learn more

Audi sport customer racing

With the R8 LMS, Audi developed its first racing car specifically for customer sport. The GT3 sports car, more than 50 percent of which is standard parts, proved itself immediately. Audi has delivered more than 200 racing cars to customers. In March 2015, Audi presented the second generation of the successful GT3 sports car, which won the 24-hour race at the Nürburgring only two months later. 2015 also heralded the Audi Sport TT Cup that saw youngsters proving themselves in action-packed races over three seasons. Jan Kisiel, Joonas Lappalainen and Philip Ellis were crowned champions from 2015 till 2017 respectively. Two years, two new models: In September 2016, the launch of the Audi RS 3 LMS marked the brand’s venture into the world of TCR competition in touring car racing. Whilst the RS 3 LMS was enjoying a successful first season in the hands of customers during 2017, the Audi R8 LMS GT4, for the ever-growing GT4 category, was unveiled in April of the same year.





This completed Audi Sport customer racing’s current portfolio of the three internationally popular categories GT3, GT4 and TCR.

‘VORSPRUNG DURCH TECHNIK’ continues into the future

In 2017, Audi Sport repositioned itself. The company not only demonstrated ‘Vorsprung durch Technik’ in the DTM, but also in two other disciplines, which joined the brand’s portfolio for the first time. Since the 2016/17 season, Audi became more involved in Formula E, the world’s first racing series for pure-electric-powered racing cars. With success: Audi Fahrer Lucas di Grassi won the drivers’ title at the season finale in Montreal. “Electro-mobility is one of the key issues in our industry,” says Peter Mertens, Member of the Board of AUDI AG, Technical Development. “We aim to become a leading premium provider in this field. In 2025, every fourth Audi will be an electric car.” The commitment of Audi in the 2017/18 season was extended to a factory motorsport programme, with Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler participating in the twelve Formula E races with the Audi e-tron FE04, driven by Lucas di Grassi and Daniel Abt, who won the teams’ championship for Audi.



But the future has already begun
The new Audi e-tron FE05 will take part in the fifth Formula E season from the end of 2018

走进奥迪 > 关于奥迪 > 一汽-大众奥迪官网>突破科技 启迪未来

  • enter_audi_banner.jpg
enter_audi_banner.jpg

作为国内豪华汽车领军品牌,一汽-大众奥迪拥有多姿多彩的辉煌历史。从1932年起,奥迪开始采用四环徽标,品牌基因的传承发展之路就此铺开。时至今日,奥迪已成为优雅、豪华和领跑科技的代名词,而它的汽车和发动机传统工艺制造可追溯至十九世纪。“尊贵再进化”的奥迪在长达百年的时间里创造了无数的传奇,其中一些车型更是成为了汽车工业史上的绝世经典。

奥迪的前身

奥迪是德国历史最悠久的汽车制造商之一。从1932年起,奥迪开始采用四环徽标,它象征着奥迪与小奇迹(DKW)、霍希(Horch)和漫游者(Wanderer)合并成的汽车联盟公司。一直以来奥迪所表现出来的高技术水平、质量标准、创新能力、以及经典车型款式让其成为世界最成功的汽车品牌之一。让我们一同见证奥迪的传奇历史,了解奥迪的一切。

  • Horch.jpg
    Horch 霍希公司

    在19世纪末,德国已经有若干家汽车制造企业,其中就包括1899年在科隆成立的奥古斯特·霍希公司。奥古斯特·霍希是汽车工程领域的一位先驱人物。在创办自己的企业之前,他曾在曼海姆的卡尔·本茨公司工作了三年,担任汽车生产部门主管。在1904年,奥古斯特·霍希将公司搬迁到茨维考镇,并将其重组为股份制企业。但因执行董事和监事会之间存在分歧,导致奥古斯特·霍希公司在1909年离职。

  • Audi.jpg
    Audi 奥迪公司

    在与霍希汽车合资公司分道扬镳之后,奥古斯特·霍希于1909年组建了一家新企业,仍然经营汽车制造业务。由于霍希此时无法再使用自己的名字作为汽车品牌,所以他采用将自己的名字“霍希”(德语中原意为“听”)翻译成拉丁文 “奥迪”(Audi),这就是奥迪工厂的起点。

奥古斯特·霍希在1910年5月推出了第一辆采用新奥迪品牌的汽车。一经面世,这款车型就迅速备受瞩目,在当时难度最大的国际奥地利阿尔卑斯国际拉力赛中屡获殊荣,之后在1912、1913和1914年,奥迪连续三年赢得这项赛事的桂冠。第一次世界大战结束后,这家总部位于茨维考的公司在1921年再次吸引了世人的目光:它成为德国首位采用左侧驾驶以及中央落地式变速杆配置的汽车制造商。这使驾驶员能够更方便地控制汽车,因此,在随后的几年中,德国其他汽车制造商纷纷仿效。

第一辆配备六缸发动机的奥迪于1923年面世。该奥迪车装备了机油滤清器和空气滤清器。直到几年后,空气滤清器才成为汽车的标配部件。奥迪六缸汽车也是德国第一批为所有四个车轮都配置了液压制动器的车型之一,其设计方案出自茨维考的奥迪内部开发部门。1927年,首席设计师海因里希·舒赫开发了奥迪的第一款外型磅礴大气的八缸汽车“Imperator”。不过,由于这款汽车上市时间太晚,正值当时大型豪华轿车销量不断下滑。公司陷入了财务困境。在1928年,公司被DKW商业企业的所有者乔尔根·斯卡夫特·拉斯姆森收购。

Wanderer 漫游者公司

1885年,两位机械师约翰·巴普蒂斯特·温克霍夫和理查德·阿道夫·耶尼克在开姆尼茨创办了自行车维修业务。不久之后,因为市场上对自行车的需求量很大,所以他们开始生产自己的自行车产品,并以“漫游者”(Wanderer)作为品牌销售。在1896年,他们的企业更名为漫游者自行车制造公司(Wanderer Fahrradwerke AG)。1902年,漫游者公司推出自己的第一款摩托车;1913年,又开始将业务拓展到汽车制造行业。公司开发了一款小型两座汽车,被人们昵称为“Puppchen”(“洋娃娃”)。这款汽车为漫游者公司揭开了全新的篇章,就此开始了长达数十年的汽车生产业务。

DKW 公司

DWK公司最初成立于1902年,当时名叫拉斯穆森恩斯特公司,位于开姆尼茨。在1907年,公司搬迁到德国埃尔茨山区的乔保。在早期阶段,该公司生产并销售蒸汽发生装置所使用的废蒸汽集油器和其它部件,后来又增加了各种离心机和涂装设备产品,并为客户提供挡泥板和车辆照明等汽车零件。在1916年,公司的创始人乔尔根·斯卡夫特·拉斯姆森开始尝试采用蒸汽驱动技术的汽车,并注册了“DKW”商标。到了1919年,公司名称变更为茨肖保电机公司,生产小型二冲程发动机,第一辆DKW汽车在1928年上市。

  • Auto Union.jpg
    Auto Union 汽车联盟

    1932年6月29日,在萨克森州国家银行的倡议下,奥迪制造厂公司,霍希公司和茨肖保电机公司/DKW合并,成立了汽车联盟股份公司(Auto Union AG)。与此同时,还与漫游者公司签署了一份采购和租赁协议并收购其汽车部门。这个新的集团企业总部位于开姆尼茨。在成立伊始,汽车联盟是德国第二大汽车制造商。公司选择四个连在一起的圆环作为企业标志,象征着四个成员公司之间牢不可摧的关系。公司保留了奥迪、DKW、霍希和漫游者等品牌,并将其分别定位到不同的市场:DKW(摩托车和小型车)、漫游者(中型车)、奥迪(中高端汽车市场)、霍希(豪华车)。

NSU 公司

1873年,德国斯瓦比亚地区的两名机械师在多瑙河畔的里德林根创立了NSU公司。七年后,将公司搬迁到了内卡苏尔姆。并在其成立后的前20年中制造了针织机。1886年,针织机械厂的经营者又创建了专门生产自行车的部门。从那时起,该公司的业务逐渐进入两轮公路车辆的发展轨道。
公司从1901年开始生产摩托车,大约五年后,推出了第一批汽车产品。同时公司决定全神贯注于自行车和摩托车,汽车生产于1929年停止。差不多过了三十年之后,也就是1958年,公司在内卡苏尔姆重新开始生产汽车。1969年3月10日,总部位于英戈尔施塔特的汽车联盟股份公司与内卡苏尔姆的NSU电机公司合并。新公司名为奥迪-NSU汽车联盟股份公司,后来将其成立时间正式定为1969年1月1日,并将公司总部设立于内卡苏尔姆。

Audi Sport 奥迪运动

奥迪的目标是在高端市场的供应商中脱颖而出,达到最出色的运动功能。奥迪的赛车产品为实现这个目标提供了优异的平台。这些赛车采用了最前沿的运动方案和充满灵感的设计,奥迪品牌的成功奠定了坚实的基础,使运动功能成为奥迪产品与生俱来的品质。
40年来,奥迪运动(Audi Sport)车型在赛场上取得了辉煌的成绩。
作为总部位于英戈尔施塔特的汽车制造商,奥迪公司的大部分运动车型和配件都采用“奥迪运动”这一商标进行销售。
奥迪品牌产品初次参加赛车比赛是在二十世纪七十年代,当时所用的标志是“奥迪赛车运动”。
在1980年进入世界拉力锦标赛之后,将赛车运动部门更名为“奥迪运动”。
尽管经历了这些变化,但奥迪的赛车运动业务仍然隶属于技术开发(TE)部门。
这种密切的关系确保了赛车业务和常规量产线之间的平稳技术交接。
按传统来说:这是奥迪能够在赛车领域达到知名水平的一个决定性因素。

1906-1926年:赛车的起源

对于所有采用“四环”和NSU标志的企业,其赛车产品的起源都可以追溯到第一次世界大战之前。
在这个领域,奥古斯特·霍希是一位非凡的人物。
他是霍希和奥迪公司的工程师和创始人,在早期曾经通过远程拉力赛来大力宣传企业。
通过这些紧张刺激的比赛,在潜在客户中大大地提升了品牌的形象。

查看更多

1932-1939年:银色箭头的时代

赛车运动两次世界大战之间迅速风靡大众,
尤其各种俱乐部比赛和知名赛事层出不穷让大家都意识到:如果能在赛车领域取得成功,毫无疑问会大大地推动产品的销售。
1932年,在萨克森的四家公司(奥迪、DKW、霍希和漫游者)合并成立汽车联盟之后,新企业品牌的宣传工作开始摆上日程。
而赛车运动则为这种宣传提供了很好的契机。
要实现企业的雄心壮志,就必须在最高水平的大奖赛舞台展示自己,除此之外别无选择。

查看更多

1908-1968年:NSU参加的赛车比赛

NSU在二十世纪初的赛车运动中已经颇有名气。到1967年,该品牌在摩托车和汽车比赛中都取得了辉煌的成绩。

查看更多

1929-1964年:DKW参加的赛车比赛

DKW公司是由乔尔根·斯卡夫特·拉斯姆森在乔保创办的。从1921年开始,该公司的二冲程摩托车就在赛场上大显身手,在1921年10月的ADAC Reich远程比赛中,初次夺得桂冠,其后在多项赛事中频频获胜。DKW房车从1929年开始参加赛车运动,当时采用的是中型600cc的双缸发动机,输出功率不到15马力。

查看更多

1978-1987年:四驱技术登场

在赛车运动的历史上,1965年奥迪品牌的重生以及1969年汽车联盟与NSU的合并都是具有里程碑意义的事件。如果不考虑二战之前的那段时间(包括汽车联盟在三十年代的传奇经历),可以说:奥迪的赛车传统始于四驱技术。

查看更多

1999年至今 新时代

在1999年开始参加勒芒赛以及2004开始参加德国房车大师赛后,奥迪借助当代性能最优异的赛车,开启了一个光彩夺目的时代。随着敞棚跑车法规的发展,推动了相关技术的热潮和相关车型的量产。参加房车赛的车型也从八九十年代的量产车发展为外型与公路车辆相仿的新车型。通过将纯赛车技术与一流的安全性能结合起来,确保达到有史以来非凡的房车运动性能。此外,在2009年,奥迪还启动了客户赛车业务。

查看更多

奥迪运动部门的客户赛车业务

R8 LMS是奥迪开发的第一款专为客户运动而设计的赛车。这款GT3跑车50%以上的部件都是标准配件,推出后已向客户交付了200多辆。在2015年3月,奥迪成功推出了第二代GT3运动车,仅过了两个月后,该车型就获得了纽博格林24小时赛的冠军。在2015年,奥迪还推出了奥迪运动TT杯。在过去的三个赛季中,年轻人们驾驶着赛车在赛道上一展风采。从2015到2017年,获胜者分别为扬·基希尔、乔纳斯·拉帕莱宁、以及菲利普·埃利斯。
在短短两年内,奥迪就推出了两款新车型:2016年9月发布的奥迪RS 3 LMS标志着奥迪进入全球TCR房车赛场。在2017年的第一个赛季,驾驶RS 3 LMS的客户如鱼得水,自如畅快。另外,在同一年的四月份,还推出了奥迪R8 LMS GT4,该车型主要面向不断增长的GT4类市场。

这样一来,奥迪目前的运动客户赛车已经涵盖了三种国际最流行的款式:GT3、GT4和TCR。

通过“科技领导创新”理念,继续开拓未来

2017年,奥迪运动部门重新进行了战略定位。公司不仅在德国房车大师赛中充分诠释了“科技领导创新”,而且也在其他两个专业领域践行了这种理念,从而第一次实现了奥迪品牌产品的深度融合。从2016/17赛季开始,奥迪开始参加电动方程式比赛,这是全球第一项纯电动车赛事,并且大获成功:在蒙特利尔举行的总决赛上,奥迪车手卢卡斯·迪·格拉西赢得优异车手头衔。奥迪公司董事彼得·梅滕斯表示:“电动技术是我们行业的关键领域之一。我们的目标是在这个领域成为一流高端供应商。在2025年,每四辆奥迪车中,就会有一辆电动车。”
在2017/18赛季的基础上,奥迪还启动了一项量产赛车计划,由ABT Schaeffler车队驾驶奥迪e-tron FE04参加十二项电动方程式赛事,车手包括为奥迪赢得桂冠的卢卡斯·迪·格拉西和丹尼尔·阿伯特。

未来之路已经开启
新的奥迪e-tron FE05将从2018年底开始
踏上第五届电动方程式比赛的征程